top of page


We follow curriculum guidance given by the government for the Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS.  For a parents' guide to the current EYFS (revised Septemeber 2021) click here

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child.


This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.  From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure and support their development, care and learning needs. 


The EYFS Framework Sets Out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children we must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.

  • The Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning (CoEL) which we aim to develop in your child.  These are essential to all learning, both now and throughout their school career. At Hummingbirds, we have a great display to help you understand what the characteristics of effective learning are.

  • The 7 areas of learning and development.   Which we use to plan exiting learning activities and monitor your child's learning and development

  • The assessments that we must carry out to help inform you about your child's progress.

  • The expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year.  These  are called the "Early Learning Goals (ELGs)"

How your child will be learning:

  • The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

  • Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking - both indoors and outdoors. These qualities are called the characteristics of effective learning.

  • At Hummingbirds we aim to develop these essential skills and help make your child an effective learner, ready to take on school and all its challenges.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These 3 prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

As your child grows confident in the 3 prime areas, we can focus on 4 specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the world

  • Expressive arts and design


The Characteristics of Effective Learning and these 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities.

We will make sure that the activities are matched to, and developed from, your child's unique needs and interests and abilities. The EYFS is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Children learn best when they are interested and engaged - 

Read some fantastic poems about how children learn through play
bottom of page